School Logo


Curriculum Framework - Intention, Implementation and Impact


Curriculum overview

Our curriculum is based on Development Matters for EYFS and the National Curriculum for key stages one and two. Our pupils are offered a very wide range of experiences to extend their understanding of themselves and the world in which they live including the fundamental British values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty, and mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs. Skills, attitudes and values are developed to prepare the children for the next stage of learning (key stage 1 and 2 ready and secondary ready), and enable them to be successful as citizens in modern Britain. We believe that effective learning takes place when there is considerable emphasis on active involvement, opportunities to talk both imaginatively, expressively and to explain and clarify thinking. We make meaningful connections across subjects in a creative curriculum.



  • That all pupils are provided with outstanding learning experiences that lead to consistently outstanding levels of pupil achievement.
  • From the start, children are taught through differentiated activities and learning groups to allow further consolidation for some, and for greater speed and depth at the upper end of attainment.
  • That it provides an opportunity to extend thinking, linked to the revised Blooms Taxonomy.
  • That all teachers and other professionals possess expert levels of knowledge in the subjects they teach.
  • That all teachers and other professionals are “lifelong learners”, committed to an ongoing development of their own knowledge and skills to optimise the pupils’ learning experiences.
  • That a positive, caring attitude, where achievements at all levels are acknowledged, valued and this is prevalent throughout the school.
  • That all pupils from the earliest opportunity, are encouraged to develop independence, self-discipline, responsibility and the ability to build resilience.

EYFS Curriculum

In EYFS, we follow the Early Years Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage. This Framework specifies the requirement for learning and development in the Early Years and provides specific areas of learning we must cover in our curriculum. These areas are:


Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language development

Specific Areas 

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


We have also included the specialist teaching of music, art, physical education and computing in reception.

More information about the EYFS Curriculum can be found using the links at the top of this page or within our EYFS Policy which can be found within the policies section of our website.